What is the longest labor can last?

The first stage of labor, in which contractions are strong and frequent, can last 4 to 8 hours. All stages of labor—from when the baby drops, to delivery of the placenta, can take 12 to 24 hours for first births, and 8 to 10 hours for subsequent ones.