What's the world record for staying underwater?

In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds, besting Dane Stig Severinsen's previous Guinness record by 22 seconds.

---

22 minutes and 22 seconds In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds.