What's the world record for staying underwater?

22 minutes and 22 seconds In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds.

---

In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds, besting Dane Stig Severinsen's previous Guinness record by 22 seconds.