Do whale sharks bite?

Whale sharks have more teeth than most other sharks. The approximately 3600 small teeth are arranged in more than 300 dense rows. However, they feed mainly on plankton and, according to recent research, fish up to the size of mackerel and small tunas. However, they are considered harmless to humans.