What is half of a cup and a half of water?

1 1/2 = 3/2, and one half x 3/2 = 3/4. Therefore half of a cup and a half would be 3/4 cup. In general, to take half of a fractional amount, just multiply the denominator (the bottom number of the fraction) by 2.