Where did couscous come from?

Pearl or Israeli couscous, properly known as ptitim, is a type of pasta. Couscous is a staple food throughout the Maghrebi cuisines of Algeria, Tunisia, Mauritania, Morocco, and Libya. It is consumed in France where couscous was introduced by Maghrebis immigrants—Algerians, Moroccans and Tunisians.