What does m. a. d.?

In mathematics, M A D is, Mean absolute deviation of a data set is the average distance between each data value and the mean. Mean absolute deviation is a way to describe variation in a data set. Mean absolute deviation helps us get a sense of how "spread out" the values in a data set are.