What is the beta in a wolf pack?

The beta wolf is the second-highest rank in the wolf pack hierarchy. There can be both a male and a female beta wolf, as they usually have separate hierarchies. The beta wolves play an important role in the pack, though they are not as high-ranking as alphas.