What's a yellow moon?

The yellow moon, also known as the harvest moon, is generally observed during autumn. The yellow color of the moon is caused by the atmosphere and the reason why it looks big is because of the optical illusion created by the yellow color.

---

There's one notable way in which the Moon's appearance is actually different when it's low in the sky. It tends to have a more yellow or orange hue, compared to when it's high overhead. This happens because the Moon's light travels a longer distance through the atmosphere.