What is a pakoda?

It is actually “pakora” and since it is really a hard “r” in Urdu and Hindi, no English equivalent, often written with a “d”. It is a chickpea flour wonton-like item fried in oil. Sometimes stuffed with cilantro and green hot pepper pieces.