How hard is a turtle shell?

Turtle shells are thought to be capable of withstanding up to 200 times their weight. As a result, 1,000 pounds of pressure may be insufficient to shatter a turtle shell. Compared to freshwater turtles, sea turtles have weaker shells, making them more vulnerable to shark bites.