How long does it take for an apple tree to sprout?

There are many varieties of apples. As a general rule of thumb it takes 60 to 90 days to germinate. However, if you have a bare root tree it can take up to six weeks. Trees won’t bear fruit for 3 to 4 years. Granny Smith is one type of apple that will grow and fruit at a younger age around 1 year.