What's in a lips oid?

From Wikipedia: An ellipsoid is a surface that may be obtained from a sphere by deforming it by means of directional scalings, or more generally, of an affine transformation. An ellipsoid is a quadric surface: a surface that may bedefined as the 0 set of a polynomial of degree 2 in 3 variables.