What are the dolittle raids?

Led by famous aviator Jimmy Doolittle, the American raid on the Japanese capital of Tokyo on 18 April 1942 was a shock to the nation of Japan but did only moderate damage. 16 B-25 Mitchell bombers participated, taking off from the carrier Hornet. It was a major boost in morale for the U S.