Where did the leprechaun live?

Ireland. Before Christianity was brought to Ireland by Saint Patrick, the Irish believed that their kings and queens descended from gods. These gods took the form of fairies on earth, and were as tall as people, or taller. Leprechauns were the tallest of them all, and mostly wore red coats.