How can you tell the gender of a goldfish?

You can identify the gender of a mature Goldfish by observing physical and behavioral traits. Females have a rounder, thicker body shape than males of same age. A male goldfish's vent is usually narrow and elongated. It will also be concave, rather than protruding.