Why are they called liver spots?

Liver spots were once believed to be caused by liver problems, and that's how they got their name. In fact, they are caused by aging and the effects of ultraviolet radiation on the skin. Liver spots are also known as age spots, solar lentigines, lentigo senilis, or senile freckles.