What is the definition of ravioli?

Ravioli is a stuffed dumpling or miniature pie in which the outer layer is semolina pasta. Ravioli are most commonly stuffed with cheese, meat, or spinach mixtures, though seafood and other proteins are possible. Ravioli are most commonly boiled and served with a tomato or cream based sauce.