When was the sweatshirt invented?

The original sweatshirt was invented by Benjamin Russell Jr., a football player in 1926. It began with the new idea for an all-cotton practice football jersey. Tired of itchy wool jerseys, he thought to swap out the chafing uniforms with something cooler and more comfortable.