What's a praying mantis?

Mantises are an order of insects that contains over 2,400 species in about 430 genera in 15 families. Mantises are distributed worldwide in temperate and tropical habitats. They have triangular heads with bulging eyes supported on flexible necks. They're carnivores who eat small animals like insects