What's a dangling preposition?

A dangling preposition (also called a hanging or stranded preposition) refers to a preposition whose object occurs earlier in the sentence, or else doesn't have an object in the sentence at all. It is left “dangling,” “hanging,” or “stranded” because it does not form a complete prepositional phrase.