When did bobby fischer play chess?

Robert James Fischer (March 9, 1943 to January 17, 2008) was an American chess grandmaster and the eleventh World Chess Champion. He won the World Chess Championship in 1972, defeating Boris Spassky of the USSR, in a match held in Reykjavík Iceland