When was l. g. b. t. q. created?

From about 1988, activists began to use the initialism of LGBT in the United States. Not until the 1990s, within the movement, did gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people gain equal respect. This spurred some organizations to adopt new names, as the GLBT Historical Society did in 1999.