What is the difference between regular grain white rice and minute rice?

Instant or Minute rice is white rice that has been fully cooked and then dehydrated before being packaged and sold. It cooks in just a few minutes, but the flavor and texture are inferior to regular white rice cooked, start to finish, in a more traditional manner.