What goes on top of a christmas tree?

A tree-topper or tree topper is a decorative ornament placed on the top -or "crown"- of a Christmas tree. Tree-toppers can take any form, but the most common shapes are a star -representing the Star of Bethlehem, finials, angels, or fairies.