Who is kumbaya?

There is no record of Kumbaya being an actual person. Kumbaya is an old folk/gospel song. It is said that the current pronunciation of the song title was misheard lyrics of a Sea Islands Creole singer singing "Come by here". And this mispronunciation is how the song is known today.