Are pastrami and corned beef the same thing?

Corned beef is typically brisket. While pastrami can also be brisket, it comes from the navel, which is the cut next to the brisket, closer to the belly. ... Corned beef is boiled while pastrami is smoked. Pastrami may also be rubbed with spices again before the smoking process