What was the first ever movie to come out?

Roundhay Garden Scene (1888) The world's earliest surviving motion-picture film, showing actual consecutive action is called Roundhay Garden Scene. It's a short film directed by French inventor Louis Le Prince. While it's just 2.11 seconds long, it is technically a movie.