Do squirrels make sound?

Yes. They have a range of vocals, including squeaks and bark-like grunts. Their alarm sound is a series of barks followed by a long "scream." It means the squirrel has spotted danger, so if you're hunting squirrel, you may as well give up when they start giving this call.