Is a banana a seed?

A commercially grown banana that is cultivated specifically for consumption does not have seeds. Typically called Cavendish bananas, they are a fruit. There are wild banana varieties that DO contain seeds. If you grow seed bananas, the resulting fruit will not be like those you buy at the grocers.