What is a plasma rifle?

It is a fictional fully automatic rifle created by by science fiction writers. They were designed to be similar enough to conventional firearms to seem plausible, while still being different enough to be interesting and “futuristic.” In reality, there is no reason to make a gun that shoots plasma.