Why did kobe bryant switches number from eight to twenty four?

Kobe Bryant started with jersey number 8 when he debuted with the Los Angeles Lakers in 1996. At the start of the 2006 season, he switched to number 24 for motivation and starting new after his teammate Shaquille O'Neal was traded in a previous season.