What is a pillow cover and insert?

A pillow cover, sometimes called a sham, is a fabric cover that can be taken off a pillow. An insert is a plain pillow that you can stuff inside the cover or sham. Some pillow covers have a slit in the back for insertion of the pillow support while others have a zip.