What is the definition of buffering?

A streaming device normally accepts data from the network faster than it displays it, placing the excess in a memory buffer. If data doesn't arrive in time, the buffer gets empty, the device has nothing to display and gives the "buffering indicator" while waiting on the buffer to refill.

---

Buffering is process of preloading data into a reserved memory called a buffer, example, it may load 20 percent of data into a buffer and then begin to play