How many grams of fiber are recommended per day?

The Institute of Medicine recommends that men under 50 consume 38 grams of fiber per day, and that women under 50 consume 25 grams of fiber per day. For men over 50, it recommends 30 grams per day, and for women over 50 it recommends 21 grams per day.