Why do boxers have short tails?

Boxers naturally have long tails, but typically are cut or “docked” within the first five days of life. Historically, tail docking was thought to prevent rabies, increase a dog's speed and prevent injuries. Today it is standard in accordance with the American Kettle Club, although with controversy.