What makes up a star?

Basically, stars are big exploding balls of gas, mostly hydrogen and helium. Stars shine by burning hydrogen into helium in their cores. Most stars have small amounts of heavy elements like carbon, nitrogen, oxygen and iron, which were created by stars that existed before them.

---

Stars are made of very hot gas. This gas is mostly hydrogen and helium, which are the two lightest elements. Stars shine by burning hydrogen into helium in their cores, and later in their lives create heavier elements.