What is spaceship seven?

Senator John Glenn piloted the spacecraft Friendship 7 in Earth orbit and safely returned on February 20, 1962, becoming the first American to accomplish the historic feat. ... The outer skin, or shingles, of the spacecraft were made of a high-temperature alloy called René 41.