Why is a pair of pants called a pair of pants?

Pair,” from the Latin, means two like things. And pants (pantaloons) were originally two like things. You put them on one leg at a time because they actually came in two pieces. ... From the beginning, about the 16th Century, pants have been referred to as a pair.