How old you have to be to ride a horse?

most people start riding lessons at age six or seven. It's not uncommon for family members to ride with a younger child on the saddle infront of them. Always wear a helmet and make sure the tack is in good shape before mounting or letting others ride. A horses personality needs to be considered too.