What is the definition of rhine?

The Rhine is one of the major European rivers. The river begins in the Swiss canton of Graubünden in the southeastern Swiss Alps. It forms part of the Swiss borders, after which it flows in a mostly northerly direction through the German Rhineland. Finally it empties into the North Sea.