Who was sloppy joe?

Some attribute the Sloppy Joe to a cafe in Sioux City, Iowa, where in 1930 a cook named Joe added tomato sauce to his “loose meat” sandwiches. Another origin story starts in Havana, Cuba, where, according to The Takeout, a man named José Abeal Otero began serving sloppy joes in the late 1910s.