How many human years are in a dog year?

As a general guideline, though, the American Veterinary Medical Association breaks it down like this: 15 human years equals the first year of a mid-sized dog's life. Year two for a dog equals about nine years for a human. And after that, each human year would be approximately five years for a dog.