What is the song golden brown about?

There has been much controversy surrounding the lyrics of the song “golden brown” by the english rock band the stranglers. In his book The Stranglers Song By Song (2001), Hugh Cornwell states "'Golden Brown' works on two levels. It's about [an addictive drug] and also about a girl."