Why do people put a star on top of the christmas tree?

The star on the top of the Christmas tree is symbolic of the star that led the wise men to Bethlehem to the infant Jesus

---

The star represents the Star of Bethlehem. This is the star that guided the three wise men to Jesus's birthplace. Since Christmas is the celebration of His birth, the star on top of the tree is another reminder of his birth.