How did the band queen get their name?

Originally the band was called "Smile". Singer Freddie Mercury came up with the new name for the band, later saying: "Years ago I thought up the name 'Queen'… It's just a name, but it's very regal, obviously, and it sounds splendid… It's a strong name, very universal, and immediate."