What makes something kosher?

Kosher food is food prepared in accordance with Jewish Dietary Laws. To qualify as kosher, mammals must have split hooves, and chew their cud. Fish must have fins and removable scales to be considered kosher. Only certain birds are kosher.

---

In contemporary times, the food does not need to be blessed by a rabbi. Kosher foods include items which adhere to Jewish dietary law based on their ingredients, method of preparation, and method in which the animals are slaughtered for meat.