What is an h. m. o. insurance?

HMO (health maintenance organization) is a type of insurance plan that contracts with doctors and facilities so policyholders can receive care without incurring a deductible. HMOs are typically cheaper than PPOs and EPOs. The drawback is that out-of-network care is not covered.