How long does it take to steam nuts?

Nuts are mostly toasted in the oven or in a heavy skillet on top of the stove. It can take anywhere from 6 to 15 minutes, depending on size and density of nut. Boiled peanuts can take 3 or more hours to reach desired level of softness.