Why do apples have wax on them?

Aa apple produces its own wax. This natural wax helps the apple resist moisture loss, enhances the fruit's firmness, and slows down the natural degradation of the apple. Additional food-grade wax may be added to increase shelf-life. Food-grade wax is safe to eat.