What is the difference between a prom dress and a pageant dress?

a prom dress can be long or short classy, basic colors. Not too much detailed compare to a pageant dress its mostly long should have a lot of sequence, details, glitter, puffy on the shoulders. It depends what look you want to go for and it should accentuates your face and figure.